Which Former SEC Players Were Selected to the NFL's Pro-Bowl?

The 2023 NFL Pro Bowl rosters were loaded with former SEC players.
Miami Dolphins v Baltimore Ravens
Miami Dolphins v Baltimore Ravens / Michael Owens/GettyImages

The NFL announced it's initial rosters for their modified Pro-Bowl Games (which will take place in early February) on Wednesday evening. While the new format will look different from the Pro-Bowl of old (with a week's worth of mini-games and competitions capped off by Flag Football instead of a traditional game), it is still an honor for players to be selected. Likewise, it provides an opportunity for SEC fans to see many of the conference's former stars all together competing with and against each other.

The SEC ended up with 31 Pro-Bowlers representing 11 SEC schools when counting players from Oklahoma and Texas. Without those two, the SEC had 25 from 9 schools. 88 total players have been initially selected overall (44 from both the NFC and AFC), which means that 35.2% of the selections from the SEC (or 28.4% if not counting OU and Texas).

Alabama led the way among SEC schools in selections with 7 (which was the most of any school in the nation. Behind them was Oklahoma with 5 (third most overall). Next was Georgia with 4 (fourth most overall). LSU, Mississippi State, and Texas A&M all had 3 players selected. Ole Miss was other school with multiple, having 2. Arkansas, Kentucky, Tennessee, and Texas all had 1 player selected.

For the second year in a row, the teams are also being coaches by two former SEC players in Peyton and Eli Manning, from Tennessee and Ole Miss respectively.

Miami Dolphins and former Alabama Quarterback Tua Tagovailoa led the away among former SEC players in the fan-vote, finishing with the third most.

With all of that being said, here is a list of the Pro-Bowlers from the SEC.

Former SEC players selected to NFL Pro Bowl

  • QB Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama) (starter)
  • QB Dak Prescott (Mississippi State)
  • QB Matthew Stafford (Georgia)
  • RB D'Andre Swift (Georgia)
  • RB James Cook (Georgia)
  • RB Derrick Henry (Alabama)
  • WR CeeDee Lamb (Oklahoma) (Starter)
  • WR Amari Cooper (Alabama) (Starter)
  • WR AJ Brown (Ole Miss) (Starter)
  • WR Mike Evans (Texas A&M)
  • WR Ja'Marr Chase (LSU)
  • OT Trent Williams (Oklahoma) (Starter)
  • OT Laremy Tunsil (Ole Miss) (Starter)
  • OT Lane Johnson (Oklahoma) (Starter)
  • OG Landon Dickerson (Alabama)
  • C Creed Humphrey (Oklahoma) (Starter)
  • C Frank Ragnow (Arkansas)
  • DT Chris Jones (Mississippi State) (Starter)
  • DT Quinnen Williams (Alabama) (Starter)
  • DT Justin Madubuike (Texas A&M)
  • DE Montez Sweat (Mississippi State) (Starter)
  • DE Myles Garrett (Texas A&M) (Starter)
  • OLB Danielle Hunter (LSU) (Starter)
  • OLB Josh Allen (Kentucky)
  • LB Roquan Smith (Georgia) (Starter)
  • LB Patrick Queen (LSU)
  • CB Patrick Surtain II (Alabama) (Starter)
  • S Minkah Fitzpatrick (Alabama)
  • K Justin Tucker (Texas)
  • Return Specialist Marvin Mims (Oklahoma)
  • Special Teamer Jalen Reeves-Maybin (Tennessee)